If you prefer a day out, and to buy direct, I am at a number of events

What are the names of the 15 National Parks in the UK?

The United Kingdom is home to 15 beautiful and diverse National Parks, each offering unique landscapes, wildlife, and recreational opportunities. In this blog post, we will explore what these parks are and provide you with some useful information, such as when they were established and how many visitors they receive each year.

How many National Parks are in the UK?

There are 15 National Parks in the United Kingdom, which are spread across England, Scotland, and Wales. These parks cover a total of 9,400 square miles and are home to an array of landscapes, from rolling hills and rugged coastlines to tranquil lakes and rolling countryside.

What are the National Parks in Great Britain?

Here is a list of the 15 National Parks in the UK:

    1. The Broads (England)
    2. Dartmoor (England)
    3. Exmoor (England)
    4. The Lake District (England)
    5. New Forest (England)
    6. Northumberland National Park (England)
    7. North York Moors (England)
    8. Peak District (England)
    9. South Downs (England)
    10. Yorkshire Dales (England)
    11. Loch Lomond & The Trossachs (Scotland)
    12. Cairngorms (Scotland)
    13. Pembrokeshire Coast (Wales)
    14. Snowdonia (Wales)
    15. Brecon Beacons (Wales)
UK National Parks

What order were the National Parks established, i.e. what year was each formed?

Here is a list of the National Parks in the UK and the year they were established:

  1. Peak District (England) - 1951
  2. Dartmoor (England) 1951
  3. The Lake District (England) 1951
  4. Snowdonia (Wales) 1951
  5. Pembrokeshire Coast (Wales) 1952
  6. North York Moors (England) 1952
  7. Yorkshire Dales (England) 1954
  8. Exmoor (England) 1954
  9. Northumberland National Park (England) 1956
  10. Brecon Beacons (Wales) 1957
  11. The Broads (England) 1989
  12. Loch Lomond & The Trossachs (Scotland) 2002
  13. Cairngorms (Scotland) 2003
  14. New Forest (England) - 2005
  15. South Downs (England) - 2011


UK National Park High Points

Rank National Park Where National Park High Elevation
#1 Cairngorms National Park Scotland Ben Nevis 4,413 ft (1,345 m)
#2 Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park Scotland Ben More 3,852 ft (1,174 m)
#3 Snowdonia National Park Wales Snowdon 3,560 ft (1,085 m)
#4 Lake District National Park England Scafell Pike 3,209 ft (978 m)
#5 Brecon Beacons National Park Wales Pen y Fan 2,907 ft (886 m)
#6 Northumberland National Park England The Cheviot 2,674 ft (815 m)
#7 Yorkshire Dales National Park England Whernside 2,415 ft (736 m)
#8 Peak District National Park England Kinder Scout 2,087 ft (636 m)
#9 Dartmoor National Park England High Willhays 2,039 ft (621 m)
#10 Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Wales Foel Cwmcerwyn 1,759 ft (536 m)
#11 Exmoor National Park England Dunkery Beacon 1,700 ft (518 m)
#12 North York Moors National Park England Urra Moor – Round Hill 1,490 ft (454 m)
#13 South Downs National Park England Blackdown 919 ft (280 m)
#14 New Forest National Park England Pipers Wait 423 ft (129 m)
#15 The Broads National Park England Strumpshaw Hill-South Slope 131 ft (40 m)
The UK is home to 15 stunning National Parks, each offering unique landscapes, wildlife, and recreational opportunities. From the rolling hills of the South Downs to the rugged coastlines of the Pembrokeshire Coast, these parks are a must-visit for anyone looking to experience the beauty of the UK. Whether you're a hiker, birdwatcher, or simply looking for a peaceful place to relax, the UK's National Parks have something to offer everyone. So, why not plan a visit today and see for yourself what makes these parks so special?

Latest Product Reviews

Kase UK Partner - Phil Sproson Photography

A Proud Kase UK Partner

The use of high quality glass filters for landscape photography is quite simply game changing and will improve your resulting images. I am happy to talk filters and help you get started, start a conversation here